ABC's 'The Ultimate Surfer' Crowns Its Winners

Post by: Rick Ellis 22 September, 2021
In the season finale episode of ABC's The Ultimate Surfer, finalists Zeke Lau, Koa Smith, Tia Blanco and Brianna Cope received private coaching sessions with 11-time surfing world champion Kelly Slater in hopes of taking home the title of the Ultimate Surfer. After a heated head-to-head battle, Zeke Lau and Tia Blanco were awarded the grand prize - $100,000 each and three wild card spots to compete on the WSL Championship Tour.

Zeka Lau is a 26-year-old native Hawaiian who grew up surfing in Honolulu. His father played football at the University of Hawaii before becoming a high school coach. In 2017, Lau qualified for the Championship Tour but was relegated at the end of 2019. He had the most professional experience of any of the contestants on the show.

Tia Blanco grew up around water, since her father served in the Coast Guard. She began surfing at age 3 and grew up near San Clemente, California. She just missed the cut to join the Championship Tour in 2015 and 2016. She has continued to compete while also launching Dear Self, a cruelty-free skincare line. Blanco was also an early-stage ambassador for the plant-based food company Beyond Meat.
The Ultimate Surfer gathered 14 of the world’s greatest up-and-coming surfers to train and live together as they battled it out at the World Surf League’s (WSL) state-of-the-art Surf Ranch in Lemoore, California, powered by Kelly Slater’s human-made wave technology, in the hope of competing amongst the best athletes in the world’s fastest-growing sport. Former NFL quarterback Jesse Palmer hosted the surf competition series with sports anchor Erin Coscarelli and the iconic voice of professional surfing Joe Turpel serving as commentators. Eleven-time surfing world champion Kelly Slater served as lead consultant and special correspondent.
Last modified on Wednesday, 22 September 2021 09:16