New Monday Night Football Red Carpet Open Features Even More NFL Stars

ESPN’s Monday Night Football kicks off the 2017 NFL season on Sept. 11 with an updated red carpet open featuring even more star players than a year ago.

The red carpet-themed open debuted in 2016 with ESPN’s MNF team – Sean McDonough, Jon Gruden and reporter Lisa Salters – and NFL stars and Pro Football Hall of Famers arriving at the stadium while greeted by cheering fans and photographers.

In all, nearly 20 additional NFL players will be part of the 2017 MNF open, including:


NFL PlayerTeam

Amari CooperOakland Raiders

Fletcher CoxPhiladelphia Eagles

Antonio GatesLos Angeles Chargers

A.J. GreenCincinnati Bengals

T.Y. HiltonIndianapolis Colts

Travis KelceKansas City Chiefs

Jarvis LandryMiami Dolphins

Greg OlsenCarolina Panthers

Gerald McCoyTampa Bay Buccaneers

LeSean McCoyBuffalo Bills

DeMarco MurrayTennessee Titans

Jason Pierre-PaulNew York Giants

Emmanuel SandersDenver Broncos

Matthew StaffordDetroit Lions

Ndamukong SuhMiami Dolphins

Aqib TalibDenver Broncos

Ryan TannehillMiami Dolphins

Earl ThomasSeattle Seahawks

Deshaun WatsonHouston Texans



The new open will debut Monday before ESPN’s season-opening MNF doubleheader – New Orleans Saints vs. Minnesota Vikings (6:55 p.m. ET) followed by Los Angeles Chargers vs. Denver Broncos (10:15 p.m.). After week 1, it will air at 8:15 p.m. ET when ESPN kicks off its weekly MNF telecast.

GMC returns as the MNF showcase sponsor with its 2018 Terrain as the featured vehicle in the opening sequence.

ESPN’s in-house Creative Services group – led by senior director of motion graphics Mike “Spike” Szykowny and creative director Lucas Nickerson – created the open with Motomo Studios and Mindcastle.

Active NFL players who will continue to be part of the MNF open include: Antonio Brown (Pittsburgh Steelers), Derek Carr (Oakland Raiders), Andy Dalton (Cincinnati Bengals), Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals), Rob Gronkowski (New England Patriots), DeAndre Hopkins (Houston Texans), Brandon Marshall (New York Giants), Tyrann Mathieu (Arizona Cardinals), Clay Matthews (Green Bay Packers), Von Miller (Denver Broncos), Josh Norman (Washington Redskins), Adrian Peterson (New Orleans Saints) and Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks). NFL legends include: Dwight Freeney (Indianapolis Colts), Eddie George (Tennessee Titans), Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers), Jerry Rice (San Francisco 49ers), Barry Sanders (Detroit Lions) and Bruce Smith (Buffalo Bills).