VH1 Announces The Cast For 'The Breaks'

VH1 today announced the full cast for “The Breaks,” the network’s new scripted series based on its critically acclaimed hit film that aired earlier this year.

Melonie Diaz (“Fruitvale Station”), Sinqua Walls (“Power”) and Ali Ahn (“Billions”) are joining the movie’s original cast including Afton Willamson (HBO’s “The Night Of…”), Wood Harris (“The Wire”), Mack Wilds (“90210”), Antoine Harris (“Ballers”), David Call (“The Magicians”) and Evan Handler (“Sex and the City”).

Inspired by the book by journalist Dan Charnas entitled The Big Payback, a narrative history of the hip-hop business, “The Breaks” is written, directed and executive produced by Seith Mann (“The Wire,” “The Walking Dead,” “Homeland”) with a story by Mann and Charnas.  John J. Strauss (“Mozart in the Jungle”) is joining as Executive Producer for the series.  The film followed three young friends fulfilling their hip hop dreams in New York City in 1990.  The series will continue to explore their triumph and heartbreak trying to make their mark in a new and complex hip hop culture.

Mann, Charnas, Strauss, Bill Flanagan and Darren Goldberg are executive producers on “The Breaks.”  Maggie Malina, Chris McCarthy and Amy Doyle will serve as executive producers for VH1.